For Frog’s Sake

Friday Fictioneers – Write a 100-word story based on the Photo Prompt image above by  © Dale Rogerson


For Frog’s Sake

Alice read the itinerary for the annual French class trip to Noumea, “I thought this was educational…what’s this?  A nightclub?” 

 Jane rolled her eyes, “I know. I’m not sure who we should watch more…  the year 9s or the 12s!. And we are the only teacher aides. What’s Mike thinking?”

“No idea, but we have to follow his lead. He’s the teacher.”

Later, at the nightclub…

“Oh Lord! You don’t want to know what Kate’s up to over there!”

“I bet that’s not fizzy she’s drinking!”

“Never mind, have a cocktail, then we’ll dance! We’ll reprimand them in the morning when they’re hungover!”


This is a take on an actual French class trip I stowed away on in year 9. I wasn’t one of those getting reprimanded! But there were plenty of French shenanigans going on at that nightclub!


Thanks for reading

30 thoughts on “For Frog’s Sake

  1. Yikes! As an ex-high school teacher I’m shivering in my shoes at the thought of being in this situation. I agree with Jane – What was Mike thinking? In fact, some of the younger male teachers I worked with needed more supervision than some of the students where there was an opportunity to kick loose for a bit. Am I being sexist there? Probably. Well, it’s my turn. 🙃 Fun story, Fleur.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You really piqued my interest mentioning Noumea since that is nowhere near anywhere we could take a class trip, but I figured you must be in Australia. 🙂 I grew up in Newfoundland, which has St. Pierre and Miquelon right off the coast, so our French classes went there for trips.

    -David

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I remember an outing like this in year twelve. But we wer legally adults by then and free to do what we wanted, within only few limits. Ah, we had such good times. I don’t envy teachers of younger kids thrown into such a situation.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What was Mike thinking? As a teacher I’d hate to be responsible for other people’s kids outside the classroom these days. Things were different then, parents supported teacher now the school would be sued and the teacher(s) fired.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The French teacher back then would not survive a week in school theae days with his ethics. Life was very different back then. But we all had a safe fun holiday/class trip, there were just a few times when the structure came unravelled!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Imagine it eh. No phones, no internet, no social media. But teaching methods were so different as well. Most of my teachers were nice, one was a self-opinionated nut job but again…that was the 70s. Argh! I’d be in no hurry to go back if I had a tardis! Lol

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started